Organizers & ChairsStudent Activity Brochure Accepted Papers for student competition

Ms. Chandreyee Sarkar

(Ph D student, IRPE, University of Calcutta)

Mr. Suvadeep Choudhury

(Ph D student, IIT Khargpur)

Ms. Gaurangi Gupta

(Ph D student, IIT Kanpur)


Abstract : InCAP 2018 opens a door of opportunities to students (undergraduates, masters) and research fellows working in the fields of Antennas, Propagation and Electromagnetics. Get involved, be a part of InCAP 2018 and witness a gathering of eminent researchers and scientists from India and abroad presenting state of the art technology and advances in Antennas and Propagation. Proudly represent your College/ Institute/ University and present your B.Tech/ M.Tech project (under “Student Innovative Project Competition” – a 2 hour interactive lunch session) and get a chance to win cash prizes and free IEEE student membership for ONE year. Loads of other goodies to be won as well and most importantly you can network with other students, scientists from both academia and industries.

Student Innovative Project Competition for B.Tech & M.Tech Students

Instructions: Prepare a one page synopsis of your B.Tech / M.Tech project (on Antennas and Propagation – refer ‘General Topics’ of InCAP 2018 Brochure) and submit through the website by August 15, 2018 and mention that the paper is for SA Competition. The submissions will be evaluated by experts in the domain and the top 5 in each category would be shortlisted for oral presentation of their project at InCAP during Dec. 16 – 18, 2018.

Winner: 8000 INR; Runner up: 5000 INR

All shortlisted candidates would win IEEE student membership for one year (2019)


Chandreyee Sarkar (S' 14) was born in West Bengal, India. She received her B.Tech and M.Tech degrees in Radio Physics and Electronics, University of Calcutta in 2014 and 2016 respectively. She is presently working towards the Ph.D. degree at the Institute of Radio Physics and Electronics, University of Calcutta, India. She is the recipient of the Innovative Students Project Award-2016 by the Indian National Academy of Engineering (INAE), best paper award in IEEE CALCON 2015 held at Kolkata India, and 3rd best paper award in IEEE iAIM-2017, held in Bangalore, India. Ms. Sarkar is an active volunteer of IEEE. She is the founder chair of IEEE APS Student Branch Chapter, Calcutta University and the Vice-Chair of the IEEE CU Student Branch. Her current research interests include development of modern dielectric resonator antennas for space-borne applications, cross-polarization studies of DRAs and planar antennas.

Suvadeep Choudhury (S’16) received his M.Tech in Electronics and Communication Engineering (Microwaves) from The University of Burdwan, Bardhaman, INDIA in 2013, where he was awarded the University Gold Medal. Currently, he is working towards the Ph.D. degree from Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur, INDIA. He is an active volunteer of IEEE and has served as the founding Chapter Secretary in the Joint AP-MTT Student Branch Chapter- IEEE Kharagpur Section. He is a reviewer of reputed journals which includes IEEE Transactions on Antennas and Propagation, IEEE Antenna and Wireless Propagation Letters and IET Microwave Antennas and Propagation, etc. His research interests include Substrate Integrated Waveguide based miniaturized and high gain antennas.

Biography : Gaurangi Gupta (S'14) is currently a Ph.D scholar in the Department of Electrical Engineering at the Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur. She received her B.E. and M.Tech degree from Birla Institute of Technology Mesra, Ranchi and Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur, in 2012 and 2014 respectively.

Gaurangi is a recepient of the prestigious Dr. Shanker Dayal Sharma medal in M.Tech at IIT Kanpur. She has been awarded second position in the 2014 IEEE AP-S Student Design Contest. She has also received multiple best paper awards and travel grants at the IEEE AP-S Symposium 2014, INDICON 2016 and iAIM 2017.

Paper ID Name Title
103 Mehak Bansal Studies on Frequency Reconfigurable Antenna for Cognitive Radio Applications
104 Vadher Pratik, Mahesh Singh Bisht and Kumar Vaibhav Srivastava Improving Performance of Thin Mantle Cloak by Reducing Higher Order Scattering Coefficients
107 Satya Krishna Idury Design and Implementation of High Performance Passive Components for Microwave Communication
108 R. Adeline Mellita Frequency Selective Surfaces
157 Spandan Manna and Alolika Pal Cavity Backed Fabry-Perot Antenna: New Design for Wideband High Gain Characteristics
228 Durga Saiteja, Rohith Reddy and Shirisha Reddy Triband rectangular printed microstrip and Koch fractal antennas for 4G/LTE applications
311 Leela Venkata Surya Teja Kammili, Seshasai Addanki and Venkatesh Gudamsetty RF Energy Harvesting
297 Sunanda Bag, Mothika Monika, Vivek Chary G and Nipun Kumar Mishra Microstrip Patch antenna for RF Energy Harvesting

Plan to be part of InCAP2018 and witness its grandeur!